And that brings us to Day 9….

05Feb13

Today is Day 9 of the Whole 30 for Mike and I. So far, so good. That’s not to say that we’ve both haven’t had our share of a case of the “food grumpies”. And I may or may not have contemplated quitting yesterday and eating a bunch of chocolate-covered almonds. Half-healthy, right? Alas, I did not, and had a tangerine instead to try to team my inner sugar monster.

Anyway.

Want to see what I’ve been eating? I’ve been trying to be good about capturing photos of all my meals. We’ve definitely been doing a lot of cooking. The only worry I have about this month is that it seems very meat/protein heavy. Worried about cholesterol. I’m trying to make sure two nights of our weekly meals are fish and a few are poultry and only a couple red meats.

p.s…..My photos are not foodie sexy. They are from an iPhone 4. Also, ignore my terrible dishware. We save our china for when the Queen comes over.

Image

Makeshift Shepherd’s Pie – basically just ground beef w/onions & garlic, peas & carrots and mashed sweet potatoes. Did we miss using the brown gravy mix and Worcestershire sauce and yukon golds with butter and milk and browning cheese on top? Not at all!

Well, maybe a little. But it was still actually pretty good. I had it for breakfast two times over the next few days after we’d had it for dinner. Callie thought it was “meh”, though. She’s my toughest food critic.

Image

Carne asada from Whole Foods. Their marinade contains no added sugar, though they do use a little orange juice. I can live with that. This was a fantastic lunch with some mashed avocado and salsa on the side. Yum!Image

Yes, I know the photo is upside down, but I’m too tired (lazy) to fix it. This was really good and a take on a recipe from my Smitten Kitchen cookbook. Browned chicken thighs, then roasted with red grapes and kalamata olives. The pan sauce called for some white wine, but I just added a little more chicken stock instead. Still good! I also did a cauliflower puree, just steamed cauliflower and pureed it with a little ghee and coconut oil, salt and pepper. Mashed potatoes it definitely was not, but it wasn’t that bad. My littlest food critic definitely did not go for the puree, though. Took one bite and pronounced it to be, “yucky”. She ate the chicken like crazy, though, so that was good.

Image

Crock pot green chile pork, shredded, with some sauteed red peppers.

Image

Baked salmon over spinach with mango, red pepper salsa. Side of 1/2 baked sweet potato with a little ghee and cinnamon. Somewhere Eric Ripert is vomiting over this combination, but to that I say, “suck it Trebek!”

chicken burger

Not sure why this pic is so tiny. Again, too tired (lazy) to worry about it. This was today’s lunch. Trader Joe Chile Lime Chicken Burger (researched, believe it is Whole 30 compliant), along side some roasted broccoli with garlic, red pepper flakes and lemon juice. YUM! This broccoli is actually pretty awesome.

After eight full days of this “new way of eating”, I’d say what I’ve noticed so far is that I don’t have a whole lot of need to snack. Maybe some nuts or carrot sticks or a pear here or there. So that’s good. The first three days were terrible, though. Day 1 I was hungry. Day 2 I had a full day raging headache and Day 3 was similar. And last night, I think we both were just kind of burned out on all the cooking – morning, noon, night. But we’re still sticking with it.

I also find the breakfasts to be a real challenge, hence my pics below. Which is especially hard because I work out in the mornings. Breakfast on the Whole 30 is not easy if you do not eat eggs (like me!). Doesn’t mean it can’t be done. But does mean that I’ve eaten some leftover dinners for breakfast, which I really do think is weird. I’ve made my own homemade blueberry sausage, but am already getting tired of it. Give me back my Greek yogurt and Whole Foods granola, damnit!

break smooth break3

Other than the Whole 30, I really need to get on the ball with some upcoming life events. Callie’s 2nd birthday, a few other family milestone birthdays. I can’t believe next week will already mark mid-month. February is flying by and that means March is around the corner and I have so much going on in March – eek!

Oh well. Utilizing my epic powers of procrastination, I can think about all that tomorrow.

Stay classy, blogosphere.

2 Responses to “And that brings us to Day 9….”

  1. 1 Mike

    I’m proud of my Valley Girl for sticking to this diet. Doing the diet together definitely makes it easier to stay on track and not give up.

  2. You’re doing great! Try adding more veggies, if need be. The book says a serving of protein the size of your palm, and then the rest of the plate should be veggies.

    Also if you read up on it, you’ll learn that red meat & eggs does NOT increase your cholesterol. In fact, it will probably go down! 🙂

    Keep up the awesome work!


Leave a Reply

