ah-ah-achoo!

11Feb13

So we’re all sick over here at Casa de Lauersdorf. I think it started with some snotty-nosed, pink-cheeked, punk, ahem, toddler sharing his germs at Gymboree.

Then ma poor baybeeee got sick. ūüė¶¬† And as I held her in my arms, rocking her at 3 in the morning Wednesday night, as she sneezed all over me, I figured that it wouldn’t be long before I caught it, too.

It was actually Mike who started to feel not great first on Saturday. My blah feeling didn’t really start until last night. But it’s no biggie. As an adult, if I feel bad, I can take Nyquil or Dayquil or whatever. But poor Callie girl can’t really take anything, so I just hope it passes quickly and doesn’t get any worse for her. She seems on the mend.

You know what also sucks while feeling down, having to still cook. Ugh. I’m tired of the Whole30 and mostly because I’m sick of all the cooking. I’ve been keeping a meal spreadsheet for us and in the past 14 days, I’ve cooked 12 full dinners, 14 lunches and 14 breakfasts. The breakfasts are the worst. That’s supposed to really start your day, but I dislike savory food that early in the morning, yet it’s all I can really do. I did try to bake paleo granola, from this recipe yesterday, but it burned a little (even though I set it to the lower recommended time), and also didn’t taste great. Probably because I had to not use the called for maple syrup and vanilla extract. So, I’m sure it is a really fine recipe; I just botched it up.

I didn’t do a great job of photographing my food this week. Super Bowl sunday, I snacked on¬†some mixed nuts and had some el pollo loco chicken because¬†I had looked up the nutritional information and it¬†used no sugar and is grilled. Not sure if it’s 100% compliant, but it was close enough for me.

We also made a turkey taco¬†salad (seemed like the organic meat tasted kind of gamey – guess some might really like that, but me not so much), spaghetti with mushrooms, bell pepper and spaghetti squash (this will definitely make it into weekly rotation – soooo good!). Midweek, we went to Whole Foods for their discounted grass-fed beef night at The Smokehouse (Mike and I had bunless, cheeseless, grass-fed burgers on mixed greens with oil¬†& vinegar; Callie had the grass-fed cheeseburger with tater tots). They had sweet potato fries on the menu, but of course used canola oil. I won’t deny that they looked fabulous, and I believe my cousin did pronounce them to be the best sweet potato fries ever. Other dinner nights included a mish-mash or leftovers; roasted chicken thighs w/grapes and olives, and¬†baked sweet potatoes; baked salmon with green beans and “guacamole” (mashed avocado with lime, salt & pepper); and this stew – Moroccan beef & butternut squash. It was pretty good and not to hard to make. Next time I’ll try it in the crock pot so that the beef has a longer time to become tender.¬†

This morning I had some bacon (found some ancho chile bacon at Whole Foods that has no sugar or preservatives), a baked sweet potato and some blueberries. I’m still on track, though do feel like I’m not sure why I’m doing something so strict. I always have a problem with super strict plans like this – makes me just want to rebel. Though, I know I’ll feel too guilty if I do. I just want this to be more of a lifestyle change, and I definitely will incorporate a lot of what I’ve learned so far afterward. But I won’t lie – I really, really want a square of good dark chocolate. Can’t anyone spare a square?!

But we’re halfway through now, so I’m trying to stick it out. I’ll probably be really annoyed come this weekend, when Mike has decided he’s going to reintroduce BEER for AZ beer week events (plus our brother-in-law’s birthday party)! Beer on Saturday, then on Monday, then on Thursday, then on Friday, then on the following Saturday. That’s quite the reintroduction. I’m just¬†hoping his Whole19 won’t dismantle me from getting to my Whole30.

Other than that….Happy Valentine’s Week!

cvd

One Response to “ah-ah-achoo!”

  1. Ugh, I don’t think I would have kept up had I been sick. So you are a rockstar! You’re almost there! I know about the cooking thing. I’m so tired of meal planning and making food. I don’t know how people do it if they don’t eat the same shit 5 days in a row. That is the only thing that gets me through this, is if I cook on Sunday, I cook for the wee.

    Although yesterday I ate ice cream and then paid for it with horrible stomach pains that woke me up at 4 AM.

    Who is that grown child? That is not Callie!


Leave a Reply

